Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

In Case You Missed It: Great Quote from Jane Chu this Week

NEA Chair, Jane Chu, had this to say at the Arts Education Partnerships National Forum last Thursday, September 11th. I love it. It is always nice to see arts ed getting some attention. I especially like this quote because, for a lot of us, she’s highlighting how the arts have affected our own lives…

I can relate to all parts of this quote. I want to be a leader, I want to shape industries, etc. I’m really thankful for my artistic education. I especially love the second half of this quote: Arts education can “provide students a better way to understand themselves.” Art has been and continues to be a medium through which I understand life and my role in it. And lastly, art gives us a “sense of belonging.” Yes.

AmyJo Anecdote Time: In 3rd grade I wasn’t particularly great at any subject. Just OK at all things math, science, language, etc. One day we were decorating for Halloween and I drew the BEST SPIDERWEB! I’ll never forget how special my art made me feel that day. Other students asked me to show them how to draw a spiderweb and Ms. Roeh told me how nice it looked!

SO, classmates, please tell a story about the first time art made you feel something. I can’t wait to see what you write!

5 comments on “In Case You Missed It: Great Quote from Jane Chu this Week

  1. sarasps85
    September 15, 2014

    …I am also very glad that I had early contact with arts…I started my dance classes when I was a kid and that has made me always fell kind of “special”. Also…because I was discharged from PE classes:). But even as an adult…every time I say (said) I was a ballet teacher I always got the UAU answer. If they are so enthusiastic about it WHY NOT consume more dance (?!), especially in such a wealthy society like the Hong Kong one.

  2. Jenni
    September 17, 2014

    What a great quote! It’s so true. I have had experience with various art forms from an early age too, and I know it has made a huge difference in my life. I grew up doing church and school plays, singing in choir and of course taking art classes. But the first time I really saw how art could change my life was in tenth grade. I got the lead in the school musical, even though I had some pretty bad stage fright. My desire to play the part somehow far outweighed the fear and anxiety. For me to have gone from uncontrollably shaking (and some minor crying) in front of my whole class while giving a simple book report in ninth grade, to being the lead in the spring musical the next year was almost a miracle. I can’t say my stage fright is completely gone, even now, but theatre definitely taught me how to manage it and how to believe in myself. I also learned that there really is no limit to what I can achieve if I push myself.

    Having had such a great experience with theatre at such a formative time of my life really makes me want to help provide that kind of opportunity for some other scared little ninth graders who just need someone and something to help them believe in themselves.

  3. torisharbaugh
    September 19, 2014

    This is a great reminder to never forget the reasons why we are arts managers in the first place. I know that I would never be here at AU if it weren’t for my endless appreciation for music and my desire to give others the opportunity to experience arts on an inspirational and life-changing level.

    There is one quote that connected with me when I first started studying music and has really stuck with me along my artistic path:

    ““If I were not a physicist, I would probably be a musician. I often think in music. I live my daydreams in music. I see my life in terms of music.”- Albert Einstein

    There are many reasons why this quote is meaningful in my life. First is the fact that it comes from a scientist, not a musician. One of the greatest minds ever, Albert Einstein understood the importance that arts has on thinking and how we perceive the world. If this quote came from a musician, I’m not sure it would have impacted me as much. My favorite stories are those of people who are not in the arts and have a meaningful experience with it. When the arts can greatly influence someone who does not come from an artistic background, I know that art was effectively communicated. I would really love some notable people from non-artistic fields speak about arts in their lives (if it has had an impact, of course). I think this would greatly impact the importance of arts in education.

    I also resonate with this quote because it implies a perception of the world that is not standard. How can one see their life in terms of music? In a literal interpretation, that makes little sense. But the arts gives you the ability to expand your imagination and think outside the box. For me, music is a way of life and I can’t imagine my life without it. For me, this quote makes perfect sense.

  4. laurenelizabethdickel
    September 19, 2014

    What a wonderful reminder. I hope we never forget our own sense of wonder when first discovering the mystery and beauty of art.

    One memory that always sticks with me is from elementary school and a terrible, yet wonderful, performance of “Jack the Musical”. I was in in 5th grade and I played the old mother of Jack. Despite the fact that my acting was terrible, it was the first character stage experience I ever had and I will never I will never forget it.

    My earrings were giant christmas ornaments that kept falling off while I was speaking and singing. And then there were the fake boobs made out of blown up balloons. Apparently,they were not placed well into my costume and I continuously had to pull them up. It was quite a sight to be seen. At one point, one of the balloons actually popped, at which point my own laughing ensued.

    Aside from ALL that went wrong, it was a success. This should be one of those most embarrassing stories you tell at family reunions, but it was so much more than that. I had so much fun that day and knew from that moment on that I loved to use my voice to tell stories. I loved to sing and act and make people laugh. Over time one thing led to another and I became an opera singer. How crazy is that?

    While there were so many more musical influencers in my life, this one moment was the first time I ever experienced being on stage by my self, and it was supported by the school. I am forever appreciative of schools arts incentives, and programs for their students. We really do need to continue to foster arts education in school.

  5. lcrowley2014
    September 19, 2014

    These are great stories! I too hope we never forget the sense of wonder art brought each of us as we develop our careers and pass these experiences on.

    My earliest art memory is from the sculpture class I took at the community center in my town when I was perhaps 5 years old. A picture of me and my clay masterpiece made the front cover of our town newspaper (and yes, that’s just how uneventful my town was). I was overjoyed.

    I’ve been involved in the arts one way or another as long as I can remember. I don’t consider myself an artist by any stretch of the imagination, but I am an appreciator and sometimes participant (at home with my paint by numbers). Out of all my earlier art experiences, I think stage directing was perhaps the most formative. I learned about my love of organizing and managing people, which to me is what this whole industry is about. Of course I didn’t know that in high school, I was just having fun.

    I think these fond memories are maybe what drove us all into the arts and more importantly, I hope as future art managers we can all advocate for early childhood arts education and experiences like our own.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2014 by .
