Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

It’s like Netflix for the Performing Arts

This article talks about a Brazil-based company, Cennarium, which has just launched a global on-demand streaming site for the performing arts.  They plan to offer “users around the world able to access recordings of theatre, dance and opera from a variety of countries, with [subtitles] in more than 20 languages.”

Right now they are working on deals with theatres all over the world (they only mention the UK, but I would assume they are also pursuing Broadway giants in New York as well).  Their deal gives Cennarium the right to record and share the performances and asks that the theatres gain the licenses necessary to produce, record, and distribute the show.  The theatres will receive 50 percent of the net profits, after Cennarium has deducted their fees for marketing and distribution.  If their on-demand service works, they even hope to host an international awards show that will take place in New York.

I love the idea, and that the creators want to bring theatre to people all over the world who “never have the opportunity to go to the main cultural capitals to watch these shows.”  It’s like Netflix for theatre.  I’m curious to see what kind of theatre companies get behind this initiative, if they can get enough interest to be sustainable, and if the various country copyright laws will hinder or impede their progress.

What do you think?

http://www.cennarium.com/

About Jenni

My name is Jenni. I am a writer, dreamer, and theatre enthusiast. I love life. I love to travel. I love to laugh. And I think life is beautiful. Follow my Twitter: @imRoseNCrantz

2 comments on “It’s like Netflix for the Performing Arts

  1. trishayoung
    October 15, 2014

    I think it could only do good things for the theater world but wonder how many barriers they’ll run into with copyright and ownership laws. It’s sounds like a great opportunity to expand audiences who would know exactly what to go see if they ever did make it to a cultural capital. I don’t think the world needs another awards ceremony but I definitely appreciate Cennarium’s general direction.

  2. zeniasimpson
    October 15, 2014

    I agree with Trisha. Netflix itself has serious issues with copyright, and I can see companies who may already have their own outlet for showing their performances not getting behind it. At the same time, this can definitely expand to opera and other forms of visual arts. Sothebys and Christies live stream their auctions with much success and there are numerous websites for viewing video art and net art. Having this for theater, in my opinion, can only do more good.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2014 by .
