Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

Protesting the ‘The Death of Klinghoffer’

Okay so I’m mostly picking this because I was there on Monday hanging out across the street thinking to myself, ‘What’s with all the blockades and people?’.  The Death of Klinghoffer, an opera, opened at the Metropolitan Opera Monday with protesters, including former mayor Rudy Giuliani.  The argument is that in an effort to show the side of the Palestinian refugees John Adams romanticizes terrorism.  The last paragraph of this article states that the opera went on as planned and that, while there was some booing, “…the ovations at the end were tremendous, especially for the beaming Mr. Adams. The audience seemed grateful for the chance actually to see this opera, instead of just hearing about it.”   While I’m sure some of the protesters meant it, this just felt like publicity and could very likely attract a new crowd of curious guests to the opera.

One comment on “Protesting the ‘The Death of Klinghoffer’

  1. alexgilbertschrag
    October 24, 2014

    I’ve been tracking a bit about this opera during the lead up to the opening. The current artistic director here at WNO and I were talking about this opera and how he is going to be heading out to see it in a couple weeks. I mentioned that I was jealous that he’d be able to get to see it and that I had hoped to go.
    His response surprised me – he said that of all the operas available to be seen he wasn’t sure that he would recommend that one. I would completely agree that this has garnered a lot of attention for opera as a whole, and not just the met. Maybe they went into this hoping to tell the story of very real events – but more than anything it has turned into a dramatic sensation.
    Whether or not the quality, music, and performances are incredible is left to be seen. But, being able to say that you have seen this production in the future is probably a draw for many audiences. I look forward to seeing how the opera did financially and if it was able to sell tickets.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 22, 2014 by .
