Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

Enhancing Artistic Experiences: The Shia LaBeouf Murder Effect

If you know me at all, you know I love Shia. So, when I saw this video, I died only to be reborn. Before you go any further, you must first watch the video. It’s highly likely that this will be the best part of your day.

Now that you’re life has changed forever, let’s talk.

I watched this video and thought: “If I’d been exposed to music/orchestra like this at a young age, it would have completely changed my perception of it.” To this day I have to remind myself that orchestra can be very, very cool! I promise I know that it can be cool. But from an early age, my perception of it was that it was stuffy and boring. That’s because I think I was exposed to the wrong orchestra at the wrong time. Rob Cantor makes all these different art forms seem so very cool and fun! He’s doing interdisciplinary right! Something like this (maybe without the murder and stumpy leg) at an early age would have saved me years of retraining my mind.

How do we ensure we’re providing the right art at the right time? Can exposing children to art at an early age have a negative impact? I’d love to hear your thoughts or see some articles on the topic.

2 comments on “Enhancing Artistic Experiences: The Shia LaBeouf Murder Effect

  1. Jenni
    October 26, 2014

    Oh my gosh. That is HYSTERICAL. I was really concerned about slander there until the end. I think it’s really funny and I think it’s great if Shia can laugh at himself like that.

    As for the music part, I think this is such an interesting multimedia presentation. The way they slowly build on music, dance and technology is just fascinating! The humor is also a key factor to the success of this piece.

    How funny! Good find.

  2. hshambroom
    October 29, 2014

    This is such an interesting way to bring together orchestra, singing, and dance performances in a contemporary way. I agree that it’s an innovative way to attract a new type of audience to these mediums, especially an audience that might find these particular forms of art to be stuffy or for an older generation. I admit though, that I am still so skeptical of celebrities as “artists.” I know this isn’t a piece by Shia LaBoeuf himself, but it is all too reminiscent of his recent “works of art.” I am skeptical of celebrities using their fame, rather than talent, to promote art (this is nothing personal against Shia, I feel just as critically about James Franco or Miley Cyrus). While I think works like this could potentially be a good way to get a new crowd interested in art, I’m just not sure I support this new trend of celebrity art.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2014 by .
