Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

When Sports and Classical Music Meet

When I heard news that Joyce DiDonato was singing the National Anthem at tonight’s World Series game, I almost died and went to heaven. I was too excited not to post about it this week. In simple terms, Joyce is a goddess. She has such a unique richness and an agility that is unmatchable. If you haven’t heard her, you need to. Here is a YouTube video of her performing “Una voce poco fa” and it is glorious.

Now that I am done obsessing about Joyce DiDonato (not really, I could go on for days), I think the recent National Anthem performances of classical music stars is an interesting topic to discuss. Last Super Bowl, Renee Fleming swept the arena with her rendition of the National Anthem. On Tuesday, the Kansas City Symphony performed at the World Series and now Joyce DiDonato is singing tonight. From what I have seen, pop stars have always dominated the sports arena, but do you think things are changing? How do you think audience perception of classical music will change now that it is intersecting with sports, a more widely accepted form of entertainment. Will this affect the relationship between entertainment and culture?

3 comments on “When Sports and Classical Music Meet

  1. jaredchamoff
    October 31, 2014

    I too was so excited at hearing that Joyce DiDonato was going to sing at the World Series. I SCREAMED when I saw Renee Fleming sing at the Super Bowl.

    While I am not sure what having such major opera singers perform in such a culturally relevant venue, at the very least all those millions of people will now have heard them perform. They will know their names. They will know what they sound like. I think these days with so much information/content out there people are more ignorant than actively against classical music.

    It would be interesting to find the google search/twitter/facebook stats on either of these singers during each of the sporting events. I wonder how many people were intrigued enough by their presences to find out more about them.

  2. awellfare89
    October 31, 2014

    I agree with Jared, I think the triumph here is that artists of the classical genre are in front of a huge audience who otherwise may not listen to that type of music. The idea of resrarching the increase of web searches for DiDonato and Fleming would be interesting but difficult to now take the next step in converting curious searchers into ticket buyers.

  3. yaoge2016
    October 31, 2014

    It’s a great triumph for classical music for DiDonato and Fleming exposed to national wide audience. However, I’m thinking the possibility for those audience rarely listening to classical music to convert to single ticket buyers or even subscribers. Appreciation of classical music requires long time immersion and education, and its inherent entry barrier may keep those new audience away. After all, one exposure to classic music can arouse enough interest to buy tickets? I doubt it. My opinion may be negative, but I’m really satisfied to see those excellent singers to perform in front of the American people.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2014 by .
