Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

Working (very) hard on my novel

working on my novel

I often find myself judging people based on the number of selfies they take, cat pictures,  tweets and other social media posts. I know, it´s mean.

Twitter is still the most mysterious tool for me, I just don´t see the point and it seems that there is more to say about it according to this article in The New Yorker.

This is a compilation of tweets about unproductiveness. “I am working on my novel” started of as an experiment and ended up being a book.

I think it´s a very cool satire of the obsessive behaviour on social media and how it can affect creative professionals.

4 comments on “Working (very) hard on my novel

  1. gormleykimberly
    November 11, 2014

    You judge people by how many cat pics they post? Does that mean I should post MORE or less? Just kidding! I’ve noticed that a lot of jobs in the creative industry request social media competency- like this one that I’ve been daydreaming about: https://www.fracturedatlas.org/site/blog/2014/10/07/now-hiring-arts-technology-policy-fellow/. Facebook is even hiring an instragram curator. While the trend is hot right now, I wonder if these skills will age out as technology evolves. Will those jobs become obsolete? Do I need a twitter to get hired? Can someone help me out here?

  2. gaochang619
    November 11, 2014

    YES I have a complicated feeling on Twitter (same as Weibo in China). People complain about the social media that it distract us from concentration and disintegrate our capability of innovation. While sometimes I have to keep 1,000 or more followers on my Weibo to find a job in marketing as it is a successful symbol of self-promoting. Social media are a paradox that it boost a trend of new life style but also change or even diminish some precious human habit.
    Once the next era of a fancy communication technology comes, social media would learn from what mainstream media have done to survive in the transition period. How would people deal with it? Although we can tell the tendency by listening to analysts, but we have to face it.

  3. sarasps85
    November 12, 2014

    I wanna see what comes next definitely. I agree with you both, some social media tools stress me out so much. The fact that my Linkedin profile is not perfect or the fact I don´t use Twitter. If before some professions didn´t require their professionals to be present on social media more and more this is changing. And it´s not enough “to be” there you have to master these tools if you want to people to know you or to talk about what you are working on. I am a millennial and I don´t know that much about technology. oops.

  4. hshambroom
    November 12, 2014

    I find this idea and book so funny. I agree with you all that I am fairly inept when it comes to social media, but you can’t deny that its various forms are becoming more and more present in the world of the arts – both as audience outreach and a marketing for museums, theaters, and galleries, as well as a presence as subject matter. The idea of Arcangel’s book reminds me of a literary equivalent to the Pictures Generation – the artists (primarily in the 80s and 90s) who borrowed imagery directly from media, whether advertisements, paparazzi photos, movie stills, etc, and appropriated them in their work. The crowdsourcing-esque concept of this “Working on my Novel” book seems to me to be the present day equivalent – borrowing as your creative subject matter the non-artistic work of others. If anyone is interested in another social media appropriation, look to Richard Prince’s most recent work – all reproductions of other people’s instagrams that Prince has commented on: http://www.vulture.com/2014/09/richard-prince-instagram-pervert-troll-genius.html

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2014 by .
