Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

Creative towns?

This study about the creative class in rural America. I was drawn to it because I recently was engrossed in some cultural values, creative industries, and their impact on economic development. There’s a solid argument for diversity breeding innovation, and this is can be a reason why cities are traditionally foster the creative class.

Coming from a “rural” area when I occasionally return home to be greeted with new creative businesses, urban re-development plans integrating the arts, and more I’m always heartened…and admittedly shocked. However, according to this study, my hometown county seems stacked for success. My county is on the map, near a metro country, and has both natural amenities and two colleges.

I think the implications of this study are interesting to consider in the context of the internet as a fuel for importing diversity into many homogenous rural areas. Also, how does this influence the model of arts supply and demand? How technology be leveraged to benefit other counties that don’t have all “the things” going for them?

2 comments on “Creative towns?

  1. awellfare89
    November 14, 2014

    This was an interesting read. I think that rural counties with natural amenities absolutely need to assess the economic impact of fostering creative professionals. To keep them there, technology can be helpful by educating developing artists through online college courses. There is more leverage for individuals to stay in these communities because there is more of a chance for them to be very successful as well (the whole big fish/little pond scenario).

  2. carolynsupinka18
    November 14, 2014

    Coming from a rural area with ‘knowledge economy hub’ (a university), I was really interested in this article! Technology, and especially the internet, is a huge tool for creative individuals and communities in rural areas to engage with the world while not physically relocating to cultural centers like NYC or DC. When I was in junior high, I read the NYTimes style and arts sections every Sunday after my dad was done reading them, and one Sunday an article featured links to arts, fashion, and culture blogs. I followed some of the links, and I was hooked. People were dressing in a way that I had never seen in my small town, and making art and movies and food that was totally different than my own!
    The internet also provides much more than access- it provides the tools. One of my professors in undergraduate always told us the most important thing we could do was learn to be autodidacts- to learn how to teach ourselves. I know many artists who use the internet to learn software and technical skills that they wouldn’t have access to otherwise.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2014 by .
