Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

United by Vocabulary and Grammar

Here’s an unusual story about something I’ve never heard of – speakers of an artificial language called Esperanto, invented in the late 19th century by a Polish man named Ludwik Lazarus Zamenhof living under the Russian Empire, who believed a universal means of communicating could be the key to world peace, are still using the language today to travel the world and experience other cultures. Perhaps Mr. Ludwik Lazarus Zamenhof was on to something. The estimated 100,000 to 2 million speakers of this invented language talk about the “feeling of joining a larger community” sharing a “common ground and identity, even with strangers.”

A bit of a tangent but after reading through some other posts this week, this “language” for peace got me thinking about the collective “language” of the art world and the art of language. These are my musings for today.

2 comments on “United by Vocabulary and Grammar

  1. laurenelizabethdickel
    November 12, 2014

    Well.. I am not sure what to say about this. It is just quite bizarre and highly unusual. So as I understand it, this language is for people traveling to new places so they would have a common language to discuss in? The interesting thing about this is that language, theoretically speaking, always donates culture… all facets of culture. So would this be an entirely ‘new’ culture creating in the making? The Esperantists, as they call them selves, seem to actually have quite the following!

    My curiosity was peeked so much that I found this awesome website where you can start to learn this new language… see here http://www.esperanto-usa.org/en/content/getting-started-learning-esperanto

    I honestly don’t think I get this… We have so many cultures already that can’t get along or understand each other, why on earth ( no pun intended) would we think introducing another one would be a good idea…

    Anyway, just my opinion.. Interesting article.

  2. gormleykimberly
    November 16, 2014

    Nice find! I agree with you that arts are in themselves a universal language, and will become increasingly relevant with the rise of modern technology. I don’t know about you, but my attention is often shot. If I can learn something by looking at an image, hearing a song or recording, or watching a video/performance I will always choose that option. For that reason, I think arts need to be stressed just as much as math and science in schools. They are an incredible communication tool!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2014 by .
