Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

Customer Loyalty

This may be a stretch for an arts management blog, but there is a lesson in here: if your business model is all about creating unique experiences, don’t take those away. Jet Blue announced today that they would be nixing the two things they boast most in their marketing – and two key factors that make them a special airline – leg room and free bags. This airline has done incredible things positioning itself above and beyond all others and gaining some very loyal friends and customers along the way (including yours truly). It’s a real shame that there were no other creative solutions to this problem. I know that as arts managers, we would do better than this.

This article pretty much sums up my feelings.

One comment on “Customer Loyalty

  1. Samantha Sobash
    November 20, 2014

    I like how the author states their sense of betrayal from jet blue. I would feel the same way if southwest airlines changed their model of affordable travel. I have been traveling a lot lately and am a loyal customer of southwest. Speaking of baggage fees, one of the reasons I love southwest most is because they allow not one but two free checked bags.The funny thing I almost never check a bag, but it still means a lot that I always have the option to for free. I agree, there could be more creative solutions to their problems, and that their increase in seats by lessening the space each person has on the plane will only deter loyal customers from remaining loyal customers. The relationship with the loyal customer should be prioritized.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2014 by .
