Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

No, seriously how you get Millennials to donate: SLUMBER PARTIES!

They’re everywhere: American Museum of Natural History, Rubin Museum of Art, and now Creative Time, the new “gala” and large fundraising initiative is a massive slumber party catered to adults (this link is Creative Time’s explanation, this one is what actually went down). Creative Time just wrapped up their two night extravaganza featuring a slumber party and then an all-out dance party. I LOVE these slumber parties and innovative parties because they sound (and are) actually fun. Yes, the lavish galas are wonderful but those only cater to are long-term, high level patrons or ones being freshly poached. These initiatives are geared towards genuine art lovers or people down for a different kind of fun and nightlife and I bet its paying off big time (capstone? Too early? Okay). Are you ready for the new development model? Can theaters and operas also do this?! Clearly I’m already too excited about this…

4 comments on “No, seriously how you get Millennials to donate: SLUMBER PARTIES!

  1. jessicamallow
    November 26, 2014

    What a unique idea! I have never seen this before! But our generation was really big into slumber parties as children and teens, and what a fun way to engage them now, as adults. Bring them back to their childhood! And theres just something tempting about doing it in a cultural place, as its not a place something like that would ever happen otherwise. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. emkais
    November 27, 2014

    I really like this idea to target non-gala going millenials. All of my non-art loving friends would absolutely be into this and in effect be exposed to a cultural experience. According to the ArtNet News post, I really like how they embrace the weirdness that happens at sleepovers…just as my mama always says, nothing good happens after midnight. I would be curious to understand the financial structure of this event. It seems as if it might be costly to produce, and if they’re targeting the younger crowd the price would need to be lower.

  3. hgenetos
    November 28, 2014

    I’ve been behind this idea the second I heard about the first one. I think this one is great in that it embraces all parts of things that happen at a sleepover: No sleep, someone does something absolutely nutty, and dancing. I’m curious how other museums can apply their own twist to this concept. The Children’s Museum back home hasn’t adopted sleepovers yet, but they do have After Dark hours for millennials to enjoy with a bar and unlimited carousel rides. I’m in!

  4. gaochang619
    November 29, 2014

    It is such an interesting idea that at least appeals to me! Since there is few non-profit arts organizations, not to say discussing our millennial patrons, I am always stuck here and have no idea of some both fancy and feasible projects. It is something in an old fashion, but at the same time, something new for arts organizations. I think both theaters and museums could call for some programs or activities featured in memorial symbol of each generation’s characteristic childhood, which can usually evoke great resonance.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2014 by .
