Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

Air Travel Delays Got You Down? Airport Art to the Rescue!

I read this article when I was traveling to NYC.  According to my limited experience of traveling, most flights delayed due to bad weather or air controlling, so the airport art will be a great method for passengers like me to kill time. For artists, if airport purchase a large amount of art works, the living conditions of those artists will be highly improved.

However, as arts managers, we have to consider what will happen to our art organizations. Will that beneficial to arts organizations, for it exposes arts to some one who may never appreciates arts or  got to gallery? Or will that hurt arts organization because the amount of time spending in the arts might be constant?

Anyway, arts occur in transportation stops always make me feel curious and worthy to visit.

About yaoge2016

Yaoge Wang is an emerging arts administrator dedicated to arts, culture, and nonprofit sector. With Accounting and Arts Management backgrounds and a special mix of “right brain/left brain” balance, she brings strong analytical skills and judgment as well as creativity to complex problems. She has extensive professional experience in the U.S. and China. She hopes to apply this international perspective to make the arts more visible to the public.

4 comments on “Air Travel Delays Got You Down? Airport Art to the Rescue!

  1. hshambroom
    November 28, 2014

    I have to say, I am a fan of art in airports, and I actually think it can be a great way to grab people’s attention and get them interested in artists or even just art in general that they might never have spent time looking at before. I remember when I was younger, Boston Logan Airport had Chihuly installations all over, and it was one of the first times I was exposed to his work. Since I was pretty young at the time, it was one of the first times I remember seeing art outside a museum setting, and it made it seem much more accessible, and less “structured” – like I could approach it and look at it without a formal museum trip.

  2. hgenetos
    November 28, 2014

    Indianapolis redid its airport a few years ago. When it did, it made a point of being local. While there are Starbucks and a McDonald’s, there are also some of the top rated, list winning restaurants who a branch at the airport. I love getting to grab some of my favorite spots before a flight. They did not stop there with their local attitude. They filled the airport with art by artists who have some tie to or lived in Indiana. I think it is a great way to add some personality to a very stark space, to support the local arts scene, and showcase the arts further. I agree with Hannah that it takes away the formality of art and makes it more approachable. It could be a great way for a local museum to make themselves more inviting by adding a few of their pieces to an airport. This also not just locals who travel through the airport but visitors to see what is available at said museum and to want to go.

    http://www.indianapolisairport.com/information_news/art_permanentCollection.aspx

  3. gaochang619
    November 29, 2014

    I haven’t seen any airport equipped with art works, and most of the time they have mere steels and cements, which makes me boring and have to rely on my dull iPhone to spend the waiting time. If there are some fancy art works in the airport, it would expose arts to more folks who may never appreciates arts or got to gallery. Maybe it won’t help a lot, but it would be a significant collaboration.

  4. qfloyd
    December 10, 2014

    Not only are airports being equipped with artwork but also public transportation. For example, the NYC Subway system has a full-time position that is dedicated to place artwork in different train stations around the city. Public art has become a form of therapy in places where many people have stressed! If this is a way to engage art in the communities everywhere, then let’s do it!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2014 by and tagged , .
