Survey of Arts Management

Course blog for American University PERF-570, Fall 2014

Let’s talk about money.

This article, “Why do we expect artists to work for free? Here’s How We Can Change The System” from CreativeTime is very interesting, complex, and insightful. It kind of seems to bring up all the problems— capitalism, crowd funding, distribution of wealth, U.S. cultural funding models, the artist’s uncontrollable desire to create. It also kind of escalates quickly. This makes me think back to our class discussion about the concept: “I am a soldier so my children can be farmers so their children can be poets.” Is this a generation of poets? It certainly seems as if there are a lot of people trying to make it so. I particularly liked the call to action for collaboration, and to cut the pleasantries and get to talking money. I see the collaboration taking off, but the money talk is a bigger hurdle. What do you guys think?

One comment on “Let’s talk about money.

  1. carolynsupinka18
    December 6, 2014

    i love the phrase ‘generation of poets’. I liked the conclusion that calls for greater ‘solidarity’- to me this means interdisciplinary collaboration and perspective. I’m also interested in ways to find markets or new ways of making a living outside of or independent of the perceived ‘establishments’, or ‘vertical towers’ of art that the author calls Art Basel and others.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 3, 2014 by .
